Stockert, the Star Gazer, © Eifel Tourismus GmbH, AR - shapefruit AG

Astropeiler Stockert – Historische Radiosternwarte

Bad Münstereifel

On the Stockert, a mountain near Bad Münstereifel, stands a technical monument: the Astropeiler, the first freely movable radio telescope in Germany. Together with a small 10m mirror, the Astropeiler forms the Stockert radio observatory. Dating from the late 1950s, the facility is a unique piece of German scientific history. the facility is owned by the North Rhine-Westphalia Foundation and is maintained and operated by Astropeiler Stockert e.V.

mehr lesen

Share content:

At a glance

Opening hours

  • From May 1st to October 31st
    Sunday
    2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

you can find the current guided tour dates here

Place

Bad Münstereifel

Contact

Astropeiler – Historische Radiosternwarte
Astropeiler Stockert 2-4
53902 Bad Münstereifel
Phone: (0049) 2253 544030

Homepagewrite e-mail

Bitte akzeptieren Sie den Einsatz aller Cookies, um den Inhalt dieser Seite sehen zu können.

Alle Cookies Freigeben

Plan your journey

per Google Maps

You might also be interested in

Visit the Wilderness(t)spaces exhibition with children, © Nationalpark Eifel, D. Ketz

Eifel National Park centre - “Wildnis(t)räume” exhibition

In the Eifel National Park centre at the Vogelsang IP “International Place”, visitors can experience nature with all their senses - indoors and outdoors. Surrounded by dense mixed deciduous forests, the modern visitors’ centre above the Urftsee lake has hosted the “Wildnis(t)räume” (“Wilderness Dreams”) exhibition - a barrier-free, interactive nature experience for people of all ages. The Eifel National Park centre is open all year round.

Cyclists at the source of the Erft

Erftquelle

The "Erft" rises in the small village of Holzmülheim, directly below the Himberg. It flows from here in the direction of Bad Münstereifel until it flows into the Rhine after about 100 km near Neuss. The spring was framed with natural stones by the village community.There is also a small statue of St. John Nepomuk, who is venerated as a bridge saint and is supposed to protect against water hazards. In the immediate vicinity is a playground, where there are also barbecue facilities and a lawn for sunbathing. At events at the spring, there is the possibility of being baptised in the Erft and receiving the title of "Erft cadet".

Langendorf Castle, © Paul Meixner

Burg Langendorf

Langendorf Castle was first mentioned in 1240. The oldest part of the main building dates back to the 15th century and was expanded around 1498 to include the courtrooms. The castle has been in family ownership since 1880 and was passed on to the then-20-year-old heir Manfred Vetter in 1957 - with the aim of restoring and revitalizing the heavily damaged castle. “Concert in the Barn” - from 1994 to 2010, more than 120 concerts featuring young musicians took place in the barn of the castle. The international historical fire helmet collection with approximately 300 helmets was incorporated into the foundation in 2010. The open-air stage, used only ten times, was donated to the Euskirchen district at the end of 2010 for events by schools, clubs, and others. The castle (cellar ground floor and outside) is available for group tours by arrangement.